Things I’m Going to Put On My Face (For Science): Lime Crime Velvetines

Things I'm Going to Put on My Face (For Science)

Ah, Valentine’s Day—what better time to try out a potentially kiss-proof lipstick than on a day where chocolate, decadent meals, and smooches abound?

We had a reservation for a four-course fondue dinner in Portland, so I figured it was an excellent opportunity to try out February’s pick: Lime Crime’s Velvetines in the shade Red Velvet.

Test subject #2

People rave about this liquid lipstick and its amazing formula. It’s perfectly soft while maintaining a chic matte finish. It has a cult-like following. And the brand is vegan/cruelty-free as well.

It applies so smoothly and doesn’t even feel like you’re wearing anything on your lips. It dries within seconds after application (unlike the Provocalips) and it has a rather pleasant smell. When blotting after application, barely any residue is left on the tissue. A good sign indeed.

I wore it around the house/while running errands all day, and hardly had to touch it up before we left for dinner. It survived a messy lunch consisting of a tuna melt, tomato soup, and a couple sticks of Crazy Bread from Little Caesar’s.

Yes, even my clothing is lipstick themed.

The only faults I found with this product:

  • It does dry your lips out after a few hours, even with a prior application of lip balm (though not nearly as bad as the Sephora matte lip creams, which I love dearly and am willing to suffer for their beauty).
  • It feathers/bleeds after a few hours—even with a lip liner.
  • Though the product itself is kiss-proof and transfer-proof, lip liner is not, and that left an odd line on J.’s face.
    • Does transfer-proof lip liner exist? Enquiring minds need to know.
      • excluding clear lip liners, because a girl’s gotta have some lines to color between.

And now for the unflattering after picture.

Four courses, two drinks, and some unflattering light later…

You can really see how much it bled out (not in a ritualistic sacrifice way) from the nice, crisp lines I started out with. Not attractive.

Ahem. Now that that’s out of the way…

I also tried a new-to-me product in combination with the Velvetines the following day: Too Faced’s Lip Insurance, which is a lipstick primer that is available in both matte and glossy finishes.

I purchased the glossy one because Sephora didn’t have any matte ones in stock (thinking it couldn’t possibly make that much of a difference) and it was a huge mistake.

The Antichrist of lip products.

Though it does boost color and reduce feathering significantly, it leaves your lips uncomfortably sticky (not gloopy) and the combination makes your lipstick transfer way more than it normally would. However, strangely, the color stays just as vibrant even with such a profound amount of transfer. Maybe with some sort of setting spray/powder it would have stayed on better. Either way, it should not feel like I’m wearing glue on my face.

But at least the packaging is pretty? And it’s probably useful for situations that don’t require objects coming into contact with your lips. Like, if you never eat.

Eventually I’d like to try the matte version because you apparently apply it on top of your lipstick, which is opposite of the glossy one and doesn’t make much sense. I mean, “prime” implies you’re prepping your lips with it, not setting them. Riddle me that.

Overall, I liked the Lime Crime Velvetines a lot. I’ve even worn it a few times since the initial test and forgot I was wearing any lipstick at all—that’s how lightweight it is. However, I didn’t like that my lips felt they were peeling by the end of the day.

I was sneaky and ordered the lipstick from eBay for $13 (rather than $20 from the Lime Crime site), so I don’t feel like I wasted my money or anything. Unlike the Provocalips, I’ll continue to wear this one on as much of a regular basis that a collection of 50+ lipsticks allows.

Our list now looks like this:

Pop in next month, when I’m planning on testing the Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick!  Smell ya later! 💋

Leave a Reply

